About

sandrewddcThe Montreal Centre of the Royal Canadian College of Organists serves church musicians and pipe organ enthusiasts who are mostly located in the Montreal region, but also including Quebec City and elsewhere in the province of Quebec. We arrange a series of events, which have included organ recitals and competitions, vocal production and organ workshops, organ crawls, anthem/hymn festivals, and social gatherings. Many of our events are open to the public.

The Bulletin, our centre newsletter, contains information on our events, articles on topics of interest to our readership, and listings of supply organists and positions in the Montreal area. You may view previous issues on our website.

The Montreal Centre administers the Lynnwood Farnam Organ Competition for Quebec organ students. More information is available on the Competition page. In past years the Centre has hosted the International Congress of Organists (1993) and jointly organized the 2000 National RCCO Convention with the Fédération Québécoise des Amis de l’Orgue.

Centre membership is open to professional and volunteer musicians, organ builders, music students, choir directors and all who support the aims and objectives of the College. For information on how to join the RCCO, the membership regulations, and the benefits of membership, go to the Membership section of the National Home Page. RCCO members can obtain advice and information on church employment, they receive copies of The American Organist and Organ Canada, they may take College diploma examinations, and they may attend the annual RCCO Conventions at reduced rates.

Sur le collège

sandrewddcLe Centre de Montréal du Collège royal canadien des organistes sert les musiciens d’église et les amateurs d’orgue à tuyaux de Montréal, de Québec et à travers la province. Nous organisons des événements tels que récitals d’orgue, concours d’orgue, ateliers de perfectionnement pour la voix et l’orgue, visites d’instruments, festivals de chants sacrés et soirées sociales. La plupart des activités sont offertes au grand public.

Le Bulletin, notre bulletin de liaison, contient des informations sur les activités du centre, des articles sur des sujets d’intérêt pour nos membres, les coordonnés des organistes disponibles pour remplacement et les postes disponibles à Montréal et dans les environs. Vous pouvez lire les articles tirés du Bulletin, vous abonner, ou vous renseigner sur les tarifs publicitaires sur notre site web.

Le Centre de Montréal présente chaque année le Concours d’orgue Lynnwood-Farnam pour les étudiants d’orgue du Québec. Les renseignements détaillés apparaissent sur la page du concours. Entre autres réalisations, le Centre de Montréal a présenté le Congrès international des Organistes (1993) ainsi que le Congrès national du CRCO, conjointement avec la Fédération Québécoise des Amis de l’Orgue, en 2000.

Les organistes professionnels, amateurs et étudiants, les titulaires, assistants ou remplaçants, les facteurs d’orgue, les chefs de choeur, et toute personne intéressée à promouvoir les objectifs du collège peuvent adhérer au centre. De plus amples renseignements sur les modalités, les règlements et les bénéfices de l’adhésion se trouvent sur le site web du siège social. Les membres du CRCO peuvent obtenir des conseils sur les emplois, assister aux conférences annuelles du CRCO à prix réduit, passer les examens du collège; ils reçoivent la revue The American Organist ainsi que la revue Orgue Canada.